AARP Accepts Nominations for 2022 Oklahoma Andrus Award for Community Service | Lifestyles

AARP is accepting nominations for its 2022 Oklahoma Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors more than 50 Oklahomans who share their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of members of their community.

AARP Oklahoma will present the Andrus Award to the winner and a $3,000 contribution that AARP will donate to the nonprofit organization of its choice. Additionally, AARP will recognize two Distinction Recipients who will donate $1,000 to an AARP-eligible nonprofit.

“Volunteers across Oklahoma make lasting and meaningful contributions in the communities where they serve and live,” said AARP Oklahoma State President Jim Randall. “Honoring the work of volunteers, which they often do without fanfare, is a privilege.

AARP OK will assess the volunteer’s community impact, review how the service reflects AARP’s vision and mission, and how the work has inspired others. The Andrus Award recipient and honorees will be announced in December.

Applicants for the AARP OK Andrus Award for Community Service must meet the following eligibility requirements:

• Applicant must be 50 years of age or older.

• The accomplishments, accomplishments or services on which the nomination is based must have been performed voluntarily, without remuneration. Volunteers who receive small stipends to cover costs associated with volunteer activity are eligible.

• The accomplishments, accomplishments, or services on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.

• The achievements, accomplishments or services on which the nomination is based must be replicable and inspire others to volunteer.

• Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or services may not be considered.

• Couples or partners performing the service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

• Past recipients of the Andrus Prize are not eligible.

• AARP staff members are not eligible.

• This is not a posthumous award.

The application deadline is August 12. The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service makes a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from across the country.

For further information: Mashell Sourjohn, AARP Oklahoma Deputy State Director, at [email protected] or (405) 715-4474.

For more information, visit

Comments are closed.